You are here

The official blog recipe review (to be updated)!

Happy Herbivore
Black bean brownies
These were pretty good considering the few ingredients.  They had a beany texture but that could of been because I did not blend them enough. (monkey7)
BLT and avocado burgers
They came together easily, were pretty, and very tasty.  I enjoyed them wrapped in crisp leaves of romaine lettuce but LB ate them on a sourdough roll.  I hope I remember to make these again sometimes.  (Cali)
Hippie loaf
This took quite awhile to throw together (lots of chopping) and, even though it smelled great while cooking, it was not worth the effort in the end.  The loaf held up well but was very unattractive and only tasted really good drenched in ketchup - just like how I used to choke down my mom's real meatloaf.  I used barley instead of quinoa and wheat flour, so mine wasn't gluten free.  I wanted to like this but just couldn't. (berryraw)
Incan (or Aztec) corn soup
I used quinoa and added some stuff to this soup because it seemed so plain - a little cumin and chili powder and I cooked the quinoa in a light chicken flavored veggie broth.  It ended up being quite spicy/sweet and thick. I like corn chowders and soups and this one is good, but there's nothing really remarkable about it except for the extra nutrition from the grains.  And like most corn chowders, it is not very photogenic so I will spare you all a photo. (berryraw)
alright, I really liked the idea of adding a "wonder grain" but keeping it blended, (have you noticed if you add quinoa to a soup and save leftovers it sucks up alot of the liquid?)  I don't think this one will, I added cooked quinoa, millet and amerenth and I think the blending of them made the soup thicker/fuller-but in a good way! So yes, officailly I really liked the consistency/method, but it needs a little something for as far as taste. (babysgotsauce)
Single serving brownie
This is the perfect size for when you have a taste for brownies but do not want a large pan sitting around.  (monkey7)
Spicy chickpea spread
Yum!  and simple too.  It's nice to have another chickpea sammie alternative than the standard mock tuna salad.  It's very flavorful and was good with just lettuce and tomato. (berryraw)
Vegetarian delight
I wanted to keep an open mind with this, because looking at the recipe..it really seemed like it would lacking in flavor/sauce. I couldn't help but add some sriracha, and ginger, though. For veggies, I used: the onion, red cabbage, carrot, eggplant, and some mustard greens. She just raved so much about the recipe, I was expecting miraculous flavor. No miracle..  I mean, I like stir fry as much as the next vegan, but I like to make a good sauce. It didn't taste bad, and it was healthy. (AC)
Whole wheat chocolate glazed donuts
they tasted good, but more like a muffin taste than a donut taste, (once the glaze was added, a glorified muffin perhaps,) I added the optional crushed choc chips, and would highly recommend doing so! (babysgotsauce)
Zucchini mozzarella sticks with roasted red pepper sauce
J really enjoyed these sticks both by themselves and with the sauce, but my expectations were not met with these.  My breading job was quite poor - it didn't stick all that well.  With some tweaking the sticks could be really good.  The "mozzarella" cheesy flavor just wasn't happening.  But I have some leftover zucchini and will try my own version sometime this week.  The sauce is good as is though! (berryraw)
Happyveganface
Brown rice veggie burgers
Healthy and tasty burgers. Will add it to my burger repertoire. (eldsjal)
Healthy Happy Life
Black bean fiesta burgers
http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2011/04/black-bean-fiesta-veggie-burgers-slaw.html I skipped the slaw, because I'm lazy. I stuck pretty closely to the burger recipe. I just left out the sweet potato and upped the cilantro to 1/4 cup, because I didn't want to waste any. These were SO delicious. Even the omni-man was impressed. I was also pleasantly surprised that they didn't crumble, that always happens when I make veggie burgers.  Next time I will make the slaw, because it will probably make these over the top amazing. (wassernixe)
Whipped coconut cream
http://kblog.lunchboxbunch.com/2011/09/how-to-make-whipped-coconut-cream-from.html Nope, didn't work for me either. I only managed to spoon out a couple tablespoons of the white cream from the can. It whipped up ok, but not at all fluffy like she shows. How did she get so much? It melts very easily. I'll possibly attempt again, but I don't know how she makes so much with 1 can. I chilled overnight, and did not shake or move it. Update: Chill it! So much better. I will try again!  (AC)
Healthy vegan recipes
Quinoa
http://www.healthyveganrecipes.net/video/vegan-quinoa-recipe As a newer vegan I find her recipes less intimidating than some because they dont involve a lot of "weird" ingredients. This was filling and tasteful and not hard to make at all.  I also like that she has videos showing how she makes the food which can be helpful if you are not familiar with certain cooking terms or what something should look like.  She seems very likeable and friendly. (naturebound)
Vegan tempeh salad
http://www.healthyveganrecipes.net/video/tempeh-salad-with-peanut-sauce As a newer vegan I find her recipes less intimidating than some because they dont involve a lot of "weird" ingredients. This was filling and tasteful and not hard to make at all.  I also like that she has videos showing how she makes the food which can be helpful if you are not familiar with certain cooking terms or what something should look like. She seems very likeable and friendly.  (naturebound)
Holy Cow Vegan
French bread
http://www.holycowvegan.net/2009/07/french-bread-easy-but-delicious-recipe.html Very good! I was skeptical because there is no fat in the recipe, but I guess that makes it work. This was like French bread, and was not just another bread in French bread shape. Great texture, taste, and smell. The method is great, and I'd go back to this recipe. (AC)
Perfect sandwich bread
http://www.holycowvegan.net/2009/07/perfect-sandwich-bread.html Pretty near perfect. Mine didn't look perfect, but the taste and texture were great. I would have wanted them a bit higher after baking (rose great), but maybe I just needed a bit more time on my second rise. I'd come back to this. Good method. (AC)
Meet the Shannons
Chik'n tetrazzini
quite disappointing....very bland, even though I added a ton of garlic and additional spices...maybe it was because I used seitan instead of Morningstar strips?  I dunno, but we didn't really care for it...was definitely missing something....I bet some parm would have helped.... (erinmonster)
Mexi shells
Made this for dinner (mexi-shells). Its good, a little too tomatoey, but not as good as this vw recipe:http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=21441.0 (nmpixie)
White chili
I followed the recipe exactly the only difference is that I did not have lemon pepper so I just added pepper.  It was horrible.  I actually hated it which as far as food goes doesn't happen very often.  I was angry that I had wasted so much food because in my opinion it was inedible.  I had my husband taste it and he didn't like it either but was less emphatic about it.  It tasted very weird...sour, salty and gross. I tried to think of things that may take away/mask the  sour/ salty flavor.  I added tomatoes, coconut milk and peanut butter...I know very weird but there was no way I was going to let that much food go to waste.  It was now "different" but definitely edible.  My husband liked it better the next day for lunch.  I will not make this again. (thhf)
My Vegan Cookbook
Barbecue sandwich
Love it! I would make it so much more often if hearts of palm weren't so expensive. I love it with MVC bbq sauce. (AC)
I thought this was good.  It was easy to make too. (monkey7)
Barbecue sauce
This is my favorite bbq sauce to make, because it is SO easy, but so tasty. I usually at least double it, and then add extra white vinegar, more molasses, more spices, and more liquid smoke. (AC)
I have been looking for a barbecue sauce that did not requrie ketchup.  This sauce was really good and easy to make.  It will be my go to BBQ sauce. (monkey7)
Black bean burgers
The best black bean burger I have ever had.  It was not heavy or crumbly.  The flavor was just right.  It is fast and easy to prepare and made enough for leftovers for me. (monkey 7)
Granola Bars
(peanut butter) These are good and can be addictive.  They have the perfect ratio of coconut and peanut butter.  The rice flour adds a nice crunchy texture to them.  They are easy to make but a little sticky when putting them in the pan. (monkey7)
Light and fluffy pancakes
Good recipe. They might take a little extra cooking to get completely done, but the texture was very nice. I added chocolate chips, and they were quite tasty. (AC)
No Face Plate
Falachos
http://nofaceplate.blogspot.com/ Genius! The post is more of an idea than a recipe, but super creative. I simplified it a bit (as suggested) by using the Fantastic Foods falafel mix and prepared kalamata olive hummus. Definitely inferior to homemade, but they work well to pull everything together. I did the thinned tahini and hot sauce in squirt bottles. I also thinned and warmed the hummus, and seasoned my pita chips. I didn't do the tabbouleh salsa or pickle mix dice, so I just used some chopped parsley (tiny bit) and minced dill slices. I also added tomato, green onion, and lemon wedges. So good! (AC)
Notes from the Vegan Feast Kitchen
Apple almond cake
Agh! I messed it up, because I decided I could use more than 2 cups of apples (it was only one apple!), so I used 2 apples. Also, 7/8 cup! What is that? That is too much thinking to do for measuring. I needed more than that anyway. I used two round pans, and the cakes turned out well. They looked nice. I didn't have quite enough topping for my liking, and my apples weren't the best, so the cakes weren't sweet enough. They aren't bad, and I don't know that I can review the actual recipe (having messed up so much), but they are ok. I gave one away, so I hope they enjoy it enough. (AC)
Baked orange French toast
Yummy!  It turned out mildly orange-flavored and a bit crispy, which I like.  The only thing I would change would be to add more cinnamon. J thoroughly enjoyed it with vegan dad's breakfast sausage and maple syrup. I liked mine with strawberry slices and maple syrup.  (berryraw)
Bryanna's figgy balsamic sesame dressing
Pretty good, though not what I was hoping for.  However, I didn't have fig balsamic vinegar so that probably affected the results some.  I improvised with 10 dried mission figlets soaked in some water and the balsamic vinegar for several hours and then blended.  This added about a half cup more liquid than called for.  I also halved the amount of sesame oil in there - I love the stuff but a little goes a long way and I thought it still kind of overpowered the figgy-ness in the dressing.  Maybe if I ever find some fig balsamic vinegar I'll make the recipe the "right" way, but I was hoping for more sweet fig taste and this just didn't deliver. (berryraw)
Chard, apple, and maple-braised butternut squash salad w/ raspberry-balsamic vinaigrette
Very good!  Though I had to substitute kale for the Swiss chard.  The only thing I would change is waiting to put the "bacon" bits in the cooking pan until you add the maple syrup.  I used the ones made with TSP and they burned badly.  The combination of all the salad ingredients and the dressing is heavenly though.  I'm always looking for awesome new salad and dressing recipes and this one is a keeper. (berryraw)
Coconut lime cake
This cake was a lot of work.  But, if you've got a spare half a day, it looks amazing, and, by all accounts, is delicious.  I made it for a mate's birthday, but didn't stick around to try a piece.  It's a big cake, and it all got eaten, and I did get requests for the recipe from the guests, so I guess that's a good enough sign (oww)
Ragu alla Brian (Brian's long cooking mushroom tomato sauce)
I make a good mushroom tomato sauce, but I wanted to try some things in her method (and her proportions). Things I don't usually do: add that much thyme, add tomato paste, add mushrooms at end, cook for a long period of time. I don't usually like a lot of thyme, but it worked here, and I liked the tomato paste for a more concentrated tomato flavor. I do not understand adding the mushrooms at the end. They don't impart any flavor without being sauteed. P commented on this without me asking. I think the mushrooms should be sauteed with everything else in the beginning (maybe they would cook down too much cooking that long, but I wouldn't simmer for so long). I also don't think that much more flavor was imparted from simmering and simmering.  Anyway, I learned some things from it, and it was very tasty! (AC)
Smoky eggplant dip
It was really yummy, but looked so gross I almost didn't try it. I've never cooked an eggplant like that before, and it was like little tenticles. Ewww. That aside, when I got up the nerve to try it, it was great. I just need to work on my presentation. Maybe taking out the seeds, first? (nmpixie)
Veganized Italian sausage, potato, and artichoke hearts in tomato broth
http://veganfeastkitchen.blogspot.com/2009/11/trying-out-other-cooks-recipes-exotic.html I didn't realise until I reread the recipe that this isn't actually her recipe but one she veganised from elsewhere, but I say it still fits with this challenge. I was lucky enough to find a local shop that sells canned artichoke hearts super cheap and had randomly bought a can a few months ago, otherwise I would never have made this recipe.We both enjoyed this.  N had been wanting a Spanish/Mediterranean tomatoey stew for a few weeks (why? I have no idea) and so I told him I'd made the recipe for him, and didn't mention this challenge!  The artichoke hearts kinda broke down during the cooking, but this made a really nice 'sauce' with the tomatoes.  It was a quick, simple to prepare, hearty meal.  N wasn't as keen on the potatoes in it as I was, but suggested next time using the remaining ingredients as a sauce for pasta, and I think that would work.  I'll keep this recipe to play around with, but will make again. (shelloid)
Oh She Glows
Any way you like 'em crackers
http://ohsheglows.com/2010/10/19/any-way-you-like-em-crackers/ These were good, but I didn't quite dig the texture. They didn't crisp up as much as I wanted (maybe just didn't roll thin enough). Anyway, they were pretty okay crackers. (veganrun)
Baked donuts
http://ohsheglows.com/2009/05/19/baked-doughnuts-that-will-change-your-world/ This was my first recipe to try in my donut pan. I had to use canola oil instead of EB, but followed the recipe for the larger (6 count) donut pan. It was all extremely easy, and I had the perfect amount of dough. The 12 minutes was also accurate. They were good, but a bit too cakey for donuts. I made a chocolate icing. Overall, too sticky and cake-like. I will try a different recipe. (AC)
Baked vegan mac ‘n cheese
It's a variation of the VegNews mac & cheeze recipe, and I like it way better than the original. It's a creamy and comforting pasta bake. The sauce is more alfredo-ish than cheezy. Will absolutely make again. (eldsjal)
Basic hummus
http://ohsheglows.com/recipage/?recipe_id=6002073 Typical hummus recipe, but good proportions. I think cumin is necessary for hummus, though. This is a good recipe if you haven't made a lot of hummus. Tasty. (AC)
Best chocolate pudding
http://ohsheglows.com/recipage/?recipe_id=6001782 I have been meaning to get around to trying an avocado-based pudding for quite some time now, but I couldn't get ahold of any avocados. Finally did, and I really liked this! I didn't add the extra melted chocolate chips, as I thought the recipe didn't need them. It's plenty rich and filling on its own. Great recipe. I actually really liked it still warm from the blender. (veganrun)
Brownies
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/19/vegan-brownies-two-ways/ I did not do the gluten free version. These brownies were seriously strange. AS SOME OF YOU KNOW. I followed the recipe, but used macadamia nuts instead of walnuts. I do not know what happened, but they were extremely greasy, and would not bake. I kept it in the oven for like 50 minutes, but still had to pour liquid off. They ended up solidifying upon cooling, and did not taste bad, but they were so greasy. Maybe the macadamias? (AC)
Butternut squash mac and cheese
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/03/10/butternut-squash-mac-n-cheeze-two-ways/ Very pleasantly surprised! Neither of us are huge fans of squash, but this is just a well rounded sauce. It's a bit more time consuming with the prep of the squash and roasting, but very nice for something different. Not too cashew heavy or nooch heavy. I first did the baking method with the breadcrumbs and penne, then did the stovetop method with the leftover sauce with fettuccine. I do think I liked the stovetop method better, because it's easier and the baking did not make it better. Very good, and great way to use butternut. (AC)
Chocolate chip cookies
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/09/08/vegan-chocolate-chip-cookies/ These turned out a bit strange for me. However, I did a couple things differently, so that's probably to blame. I heard that you can sub. up to 1/4 cup coconut flour for regular in any recipe, so I did that. I otherwise followed the recipe with the EB and 1 tbs olive oil, and using the hand mixer. After mixing everything, my dough was still crumbly, so I had to add a splash almond milk. I pretty much always have this happen when just using EB in a cookie recipe with no other liquid. Hers are big and flat, and mine barely spread at all. I baked for like 15+ minutes, but they still are not quite done enough inside. The texture is a bit cakey, which is maybe due to the coconut flour. Not really successful for me, but hers look beautiful. (AC)
Chocolate chip cookie dough blizzard
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/03/18/chocolate-chip-cooke-dough-blizzard/ I had never used the banana soft-serve method before--I have been MISSING OUT! So good and creamy. I really enjoyed this recipe. It didn't quite hit the same spot as a DQ Blizzard, but it certainly reminded me of the loveliness that was. I will be making this all summer. (veganrun)
Chocolate crunch dessert granola
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/02/28/chocolate-crunch-dessert-granola/ I LOVE this granola. When it was just out of the oven and warm, Z said it tasted "just like a cookie." I love the addition of peanut butter to the wet ingredients--I would not have thought of that, and it adds so much flavor. It's definitely on the sweeter side, and I even toned down the sweetener from the recipe. I used 1/3 cup of sorghum (out of agave), and this was plenty sweet enough, and I actually only added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips. The recipe fails to tell you when to add the chips, so I just added them as soon as I pulled the granola out of the oven. I also ran out of coconut oil, so I ended up using half coconut oil and half coconut butter, and I really liked the results. I think it added to the richness even more. This was so easy to make and actually quite quick, too. I'm going to be making it again soon! (veganrun)
I made an almond variation of this, subbing chopped almonds for peanuts, almond butter for the pb, and almond extract for the vanilla. I also cut the coconut fat to 2 tablespoons, 1 of coconut oil and 1 of coconut butter. And it was fantastic! The almond pieces tasted like candied almonds. I just loved this variation. I stuck with 1/3 cup sorghum and 1/2 cup chocolate chips for this one. (veganrun)
Coconut butter
http://ohsheglows.com/2010/06/22/homemade-coconut-butter/ I used this method, but I ended up needing to put it in the blender after the food processor to get the coconut butter smooth. But it turned out awesome after that! Great on sweet potatoes. (veganrun)
Cookie dough balls
(III) http://ohsheglows.com/2011/03/18/chocolate-chip-cooke-dough-blizzard/ So yummy and easy to make. I made it in my Magic Bullet, and I processed all the ingredients minus the chocolate chips. I put the dough in a separate bowl, then pulsed the chips a couple of times to break them up. I kneaded the chips into the dough, but I needed a splash of almond milk to get the right consistency. These stay fairly soft when frozen, so I couldn't help but keep eating them out of the freezer. Soooo good. (veganrun)
Creamy avocado pasta
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/01/31/15-minute-creamy-avocado-pasta/ Very good. Super simple, but excellent. Will make again. I think I doubled the recipe. (AC)
Easy vegan and gluten-free crackers
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/17/easy-vegan-gluten-free-crackers/ YUM YUM YUM! The first cracker I've made where I've been completely happy with the results. I wasn't sure they were going to stick together because I didn't get my oats and almonds ground up as mine as I probably should have, but they stuck just fine and felt more "rustic." I substituted oat flour for the brown rice flour, and this worked just fine. I also liked that there wasn't much added oil to this recipe. The crackers were a teensy bit close to crumbly, and I had to spoon my hummus onto the cracker instead of dipping, but again, this is probably my fault. I also had to bake these a lot longer than suggested, almost double, but I think there might be something wrong with my oven, so don't take my word on that one. (veganrun)
In a jiffy spelt veggie burgers
Too much flour. With some tweaking, they have the potential to become really good. (eldsjal)
Pull apart fluffy white dinner rolls
I used white whole wheat flour, so mine weren't white, but otherwise followed the recipe. I used EnerG for the egg replacer, and baked for 17 minutes as she stated. Mine were browned, but could have used a couple more minutes inside. They are good, but not spectacular. There's something missing in the flavor. They would have been better with that extra baking time, so I think the texture would have been good. Fairly fluffy, and they rose well. Not a recipe I'd turn to again, though. (AC)
Pumpkin gingerbread
http://ohsheglows.com/2010/10/02/pumpkin-gingerbread-with-spiced-buttercream/ I made this without the buttercream, and it totally doesn't need it. It's perfectly sweet, moist, and autumn-y without it. So yummy! I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 2/3 cup spelt flour and this worked great, but I added a splash of apple cider while mixing because I thought it looked a little thick. I also used half applesauce for the oil (can't tell AT ALL), and used agave for the maple syrup. She uses chia seeds as an egg replacer, and this is my first time baking with chia. I'm not sure if I'm a fan of catching the individual seeds in my teeth and them popping, so I might replace the chia with a flax egg next time. Other than that, a completely fantastic recipe. (veganrun)
Pumpkin mac and cheese
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/13/vegan-pumpkin-mac-n-cheeze-sauce/ I was not as wowed as other commenters. I found it had too much nooch and not enough salt. Would not make it again. (blinknoodle)
Sweet potato and lentil salad
http://ohsheglows.com/2011/03/23/sweet-potato-and-lentil-salad-cookie-dough-voo/ I didn't love this as much as I wanted to. I actually thought it was lacking quite a bit in flavor, so I ended up using more dijon mustard in the sauce, then throwing in some peas and red wine. It was better the next day (as expected), and it was pretty good cold. However, I think I would prefer the lentil salad from The Vegan Table in the future, but now I know I really like the addition of sweet potatoes and peas. Not a bad dish at all, just not amazing. (veganrun)
Our Veggie Kitchen
Cheezy zucchini muffins
Really good!  The green onion in these is what makes it special.  I used dried parsley and canola oil instead of margarine.  The only thing that sucks about these is that they're sticking to the bottom of the muffin liners! That may be my fault for taking them out of the oven a bit early (the rest of them were done though!).  You can taste the cheeziness from the nut.yst. really well.  I'll probably try making these again in summer with the abundance of zukes I usually get. (berryraw)
Chickeny seitan cutlets
I cooked them in my slow cooker rather than following his cooking method.  Preheating Pyrex in the oven and then pouring liquid into it sounded far too scary. They're pretty good, although they could stand to be firmer; I think baking them a little would help with this.  He tells you to store them in the cooking liquid, which also contributes to the lack of firmness, I think (I have to squeeze them like tofu before using). (veggydog)
Chunky black bean guacamole
Unfortunately, I didn't have any cilantro, but I stuck with the recipe pretty much. I did serve the guac part on top of leftover black beans with rice, and lettuce on bottom. It's really good! Simple, refreshing, tasty. (AC)
Creamy Caesar salad dressing
I made some kind of major changes:  This is a delicious dressing.  I'm really not certain what caesar dressing is supposed to taste like though. I cut the cashews back to a quarter cup and used lite silken tofu to make up for the rest of the cashews.  I used about half the water and oil he called for and used a strip of wakame instead of kombu.  Also, I left out the olives.  It still turned out awesome tasting and it's way less fattening. (berryraw)
Gooey chedda cheeze
It is delicious!  Kind of rich and naughty tasting. It has the "tang" of real cheese and is great spread on sandwiches and on crackers.  I made a couple substitutions - I used 1 tbsp of canola oil instead of the earth balance and used about 2 tsp of paprika instead of pimentos. Also, I made two batches - one with chickpeas and one with great northern beans.  The great northern bean batch ended up being smoother and lighter tasting than the chickpea one.  I'll definitely be making this more often. (berryraw)
super delicious (amymylove)
So delicious!  Very reminiscent of that processed cheese spread I love but never buy because it has no nutritional value.  The texture is like a very smooth, creamy hummus.  I left out the pimento/paprika because I didn't want it to be too orangy, and I used olive oil instead of the earth balance.  I spread it on pizza before baking last night, and, while the appearance wasn't exactly "cheesy," it tasted fantastic.  I also tried it spread on bread, and that was delicious too.  I'll definitely be coming back to this one.  It didn't seem to yield anywhere near 3 cups for me. More like 1 cup, but that's ok. (vegrunski)
I just wanted to add that I had this again tonight, but this time as a sauce for pasta.  I just thinned it out with a bit of soymilk and heated it in the microwave.  It was fabulous!  I actually forgot that it wasn't real cheese.  I think refrigerating overnight helps -- it tasted a little "beany" yesterday (not that I minded), but I'm not getting that at all today.  Definitely cheddary and rich tasting, but not too heavy.  I still had room for dessert. (vegrunski)
Yummy. If I make it again I will omit the miso, I'm not too fond of it. (eldsjal)
Nacho cheez sauce
used it today in a taco lasagna recipe from vegweb:  Wow, this is good!  I doubled the batch and used paprika instead of pimentos and added a few healthy shakes of garlic powder.  So rich and so delicious!  Very cheezy and I think it'd be good for omnis.  It thickened up a lot but it worked well for the dish I made it for. (berryraw)
so good too!  Probably my favorite nacho sauce as of yet. (berryraw)
Seitan clams in kombu broth
Well, mostly made it because I made some changes out of necessity:  The end product was pretty good and really "clammy" according to my seafood-loving husband.  The texture was a tad tough and chewy but it did have a nice sea flavor.  I ended up baking them for a little bit in some of the broth after they were done boiling in the broth.  Later on I fried them with an egg replacer and cornstarch (plus salt and pepper) breading.  If I make them again I think I would change the breading and only fry or bake them instead of both (this works well for me with other seitan foods but it didn't work for these clams). For the mods I did:  I used wakame and some kelp powder instead of kombu, ground black pepper instead of peppercorns, and I added a bit more garlic to the broth.  He didn't indicate how much water to use so I started out with 2 cups and added more as needed. (berryraw)
Spinach lasagna
absolutely wonderful.  I didn't make the red pepper sauce, just used a maraniara sauce.  I also made the gooey chedda sauce and layered that with the spinach ricotta.  The ricotta was absolutely amazing! I subbed some soaked almonds and walnuts for the cashews, and doubled everything to make enough for a party of 9 adults.  Everyone loved it, and I will defintely make it again! My BF always asks for lasgna, (made it for his bday,) so now I have a go to recipe!I took pics, but obviously need a new camera, (mine is ancient, but got one for christmas from my dad,) as I am usually ashamed of my pictures, (it really was good!) (babysgotsauce)
Zucchini fritters
They were ok. Probably won't make again, it wasn't worth the effort. (eldsjal)
Peace by Pastries
Monte Cristo sandwich
Very very good!  I'd never had a monte cristo before but I loved this.  It's such a weird combination of ingredients but it works!  I used blackberry all fruit spread, homemade tofu "ham", dijon mustard, and a slice of colby cheez (from the Ultimate Uncheese Cookbook).  It is a very filling breakfast/brunch type sammie that I'll make again when I need a hearty treat for breakfast instead of the usual. (berryraw)
Sea salt and vinegar oven fries
They turned out AWESOME!  There's quite a bit of pepper on them, which makes them spicy but not overpowering.  I used apple cider vinegar (a bit less than called for), drizzling it over the fries on the pan and mixing them up.  The vinegary-ness was lovely and my fries turned out pretty crispy too! (berryraw)
Southwest Sweet Potato Cakes with Avocado Cumin Aioli and Chipotle Baked Black Beans
Everything was absolutely delicious!  The recipes make a ton of food and it's all very flavorful, filling, and relatively easy to make too.  They all go great together with some salad greens.  My sister said her first thought when she woke up this morning was the leftovers in the fridge:) (berryraw)
Peas and Thank you
Carrot cake bars with cream cheese icing
http://peasandthankyou.com/2010/04/09/a-womans-work/ Delicious!  Love the use of pureed carrots (1 full cup) in this, rather than the usual shredded.  With no nuts, raisins, coconut, etc, this makes a great carrot cake for picky eaters.  The cake is sweet, and I think the sugar could be reduced since there is also sweet icing.  The icing is also super tasty. (willwolf)
Cheese Stuffed Bean Burgers
It was a nice idea and I may use it for future burgers but I won't turn to this recipe again. It lacks spices and the burgers turned to crumbles after they'd been frozen. (eldsjal)
Gingerbread "Clif" bars
http://peasandthankyou.com/2011/12/19/wannabe-recipea-gingerbread-cliff-bars/ I liked these but they were not like any Clif bar I have ever tried. They were soft, cakey and kind of crumbly but full of flavour. I wonder if it is because I used vanilla-flavoured hemp protein powder.. the protein stats were not nearly as impressive with my powder. (blinknoodle)

0 likes
0 likes

Vegan Explosion
Biscuits and gravy
Yum!!! I haven't had this in so long. I'm usually too lazy to actually roll out dough, but it wasn't too bad. I used a tea cup to cut out the biscuits, and ended up with about 12 instead of 8. I baked them a little too long, but they are really good. I halved the gravy recipe, used original soymilk, and upped the salt and pepper. Fabulous! This is a perfect white gravy. Great recipes! (AC)
wonderful! Very Very easy! I used all whole wheat pastry flour in them and they were fine! I liked the gravy as well, and poured it all over the biscuits and some very wonderful breakfast potatoes and toasted pumpkin seeds, yum! (babysgotsauce)
I thought it was a tad floury, but my husband loved it. Pretty good, overall. (nmpixie)
Cuban black beans
I love all kinds of beans and rice, and this is tasty. I used the cumin and lime version of Rotel, and added a bit of chili powder. I also added a green bell pepper, and 3 large cloves of garlic. I served it over a brown/wild rice mix, and had a quesadilla (with leftover queso). Yum! Served with lime. (AC)
Fideo
I loved it! I must say I was not expecting to love it much. I thought I would like it, but not be like mmmmmmmmmmmmm. It's so good. I tried really hard to follow the recipe, and not change/add, but I accidentally doubled the cumin, and garlic powder. I love those noodles. I'm glad I didn't try to sub. noodles, b/c I don't think it would have been the same. There's just something different about them. I have to remember to use this as a side dish for all Mexican style meals. So good and easy! (AC)
Tasty, quick, cheap, & easy!  Makes a great side to serve with refried beans & salad. (willwolf)
Queso
I doubled it, but with one can of Rotel (as suggested). Yummy! I have made one or two very similar to this one (same ingredients, different proportions), but it's definitely the way to go. I might cut back on the mustard next time, just because I don't like actually tasting it. I made a mistake and walked away for a few seconds, and that was the time when mine reallyyy thickened. It got too thick, so I just dumped in the rotel with the liquid, and it worked out nicely. I like the spice proportions. I would guess that the flour doesn't have to be fully doubled, because it seemed like a lot of flour, and it really thickened up. Really tasty! I have leftovers for something. I like the look of it too.  (AC)
Vegan Guinea Pig
La Dolce Vegan's faux chicken seitan
This is probably one of the best chickeny seitans I've made so far.  Others have called for celery seed, this one doesn't and I think it's better. The recipe doesn't make much so I would double it or even quadruple it to have more on hand.  The only thing with the method is my broth was not reducing down hardly but I usually just store the cooked seitan in the remaining broth anyway.  Good flavor and texture.  I did add a little chikeny broth powder to the vital wheat gluten. (berryraw)
Wilted kale salad with creamy chipotle dressing
This is pretty good though it wasn't spicy enough for me and could use a little garlic.  I used less oil than called for and hemp seed instead of sunflower seeds.  I do like the creaminess and it's nice to have a raw kale salad (as opposed to cooked kale) now and again. (berryraw)
Vegan Planet
Red hot chili tofu
http://veganplanet.blogspot.com/2009/03/red-hot-chili-tofu.html Tasty!  I enjoyed the tomato-chili combo.  I didn't find this really spicy at all with the 1 teaspoon chili paste, though.  Next time, I'll at least double that, probably more.  This recipe is also in her Vegan Fire and Spice cookbook. (willwolf)
Tiramisu for Two
http://veganplanet.blogspot.com/2012/01/tirtamisu-for-two.html So rich and decadent tasting, yet quick & easy!  Makes a great fancy dessert with minimal effort.  I'll definitely be making this again.  FYI, my boyfriend and I split one of these servings.  Because of the extreme richness, we found this to be more of a reasonable serving.  This is an adaptation of the Tiramisu Parfaits recipe that is featured in her cookbook, Quick-Fix Vegan. (willwolf)
Vegan Yum Yum
Aloo parathas
holy moley this suckers are goooood.  I've lost track of how many times I've made them, and I've never had leftovers yet. They also work fine with regular flour when you don't have any durum atta. If you're not cooking them straight away, watch out for the dough becoming sticky, especially as that can create a hole in the seal, which will prevent them from puffing up Also, I've learnt to make more potato filling than necessary, because both my husband and I struggle to not just eat it with a spoon, it's so freaking tasty. (oww)
holy hell these are good!  Oww is right these are gooood.  I wanted to make a nice special meal for N after he was away for a few days and decided on an Indian meal - with these fancy home made breads.  They really impressed him (and me).  The filling was great, although I think I mashed mine too much as mine went gluey, but still tasted damn fine!  I used normal white flour as didn't have the durum atta, and they were fine....although I may get some durum atta because I am definitely making these bad boys again.  Simple to make and amazing results - they even puffed up when cooking, which I didn't expect. (shelloid)
Baked sundried tomato risotto
I've made this baked risotto, but not the balsamic reduction she recommends to go with it.It's a fairly straight forward risotto recipe, but an interesting method, because it saves you standing at the stove stirring.  I was sceptical of how well it was going to cook, and kept checking the oven to see whether it was drying out, but it was the opposite.  I think I had to leave it in an extra 10-ish minutes, but in the end the rice was beatifully done, and the flavours had come together nicely. It's probably just me being a bit traditional about liking standing at the stove stirring, but I don't think I'll use this method again. (oww)
Broccoli lentil soup
Really tasty, easy, but fancy looking soup. The spicyness of the cumin and chilli gives this soup a lovely kick, and it's super hearty and filling with the lentils and broccoli.  I made the coulis and it was tasty and looked very pretty, but I think this soup would be just yum on it's own with some homemade bread.  I'll probably only do the coulis again if serving it to guests. (oww)
Crumb cake
I've made this cake a few times, and it's really good, though my crumb topping is definitely much more crumbly than I think it should be. Possibly because I used a mix of white/brown sugar rather than molasses?  I also tend to err on the light side when adding margarine/oil, so that could be it.  Either way, it bakes up really well, and doesn't fall off/fall apart so I'm happy. For something different, I've also made this with a filling by soaking dried apricots and blending them into a paste, spreading over the base and topping with the crumbs. You could do this with any fruit, or even a chocolate/caramel sauce... makes a nice contrast with the fairly plain cake. (oww)
Hot and sour cabbage soup
http://veganyumyum.com/2007/10/hot-and-sour-cabbage-soup/ The only thing I changed was to press then cube the tofu small and bake it until golden at 375. Other than that, this soup is fantastic as is if you dig a little spice and vinegar... Very cheap and easy I almost always have all the ingredients on hand. TRY IT. (amymylove)
Mini baked donuts
I made these for my mom since she wanted doughnuts.  I used flax seed for the egg replacer and used a large doughnut pan instead of mini. After they cooled I coated them in a powder sugar glaze and coated them in chopped peanuts. My mom loved them.  She was craving a peanut doughnut from dunkin' donuts but they do not make them anymore.  My dad tried one and could not believe they were vegan.  These are not heavy like fried doughnuts but not light like yeast doughnuts.  The recipe only makes 6 large doughnuts so I would double it if feeding more then a couple people. (monkey7)
Tomato basil cream pasta
Like the title says, this is a super quick sauce, pretty healthy, and easy to make with things that always live in my cupboards.  It's nothing ground-breaking, but it is tasty, and easy enough to shake up the spices/herbs and customise it how you like. (oww)
VegNews
Cha Su Bao
http://www.vegnews.com/web/articles/page.do?pageId=2124&catId=11 Totally failed. I just don't think the directions were specific enough for me. The inside where the seitan mix was never got cooked. It was just raw dough no matter how long I steamed them. (nmpixie)
Chickpea and lentil soup
http://www.vegnews.com/web/articles/page.do?pageId=1576&catId=11 I found it odd that the recipe didn't specify/suggest a type of lentil to use, but I used red because I didn't want it to take too long to cook. I was thinking when I was making it that it might be quite bland because though there were tasty flavours in there, the quantities were quite small for a decent amount of soup.  My husband commented that it was nice that because it was mildly spiced, you could actually taste the lentils and the chickpeas . Quick, easy and satisfying, would probably make again but would play around with the spices more. (oww)
Macaroni and cheese
When I saw the recipe, I thought how on earth could a vegan mac n cheese recipe work without nutritional yeast.....well the answer is amazingly well!!  Both N and I really really enjoyed this.  It did taste kinda cheesy to me, but don't think it did to N.  However, he did really like it and said he would definitely have it again.  So yeah not really cheesy, but tangy and a bit salty (in a good way, but I used half the salt called for). Not sure about the recipe serving 6 - I made a half recipe and it was just about enough for me and N with a side of peas and a corn on the cob. I dunno maybe we're just complete pigs. Oh yeah, I used less margarine than called for and would use less again next time, just to cut back on fat.  And I had to add a bit more water (maybe and extra 1/8 cup in the half recipe I made) as it wasn't saucy enough for me and would add even more next time. Will make again for sure. (shelloid)
really creamy and comforting, and not remotely cheesy. So, I think the name is misleading, but I do like it and would make it again. Definitely bake it. (nmpixie)
Mexican tortilla bake
http://www.vegnews.com/web/articles/page.do?pageId=1214&catId=11 Added an onion because it seemed wrong not to, and I didn't have quite enough beans so I used some chopped up chorizo seitan as well.  Used homemade salsa and lemon instead of lime juice . I also did it in a smaller casserole dish, stacked up higher. I make a similar mexican lasagne/bake thing quite often, but the big point of difference, which we really liked, with this one was the blended tofu/salsa/bean mixture.  Yum, and a nice way to put some creaminess in the middle there. Served it with a fresh salad made with lettuce from my mum's garden, tomatoes from our garden and cucumber from my nana's garden, sustainability win! (oww)
Vegetarian Times
Autumn vegetable tagine
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/11095?printer=yes This was delicious.  Very healthy in that it has the squash and the greens adding powerhouse nutrition.  I did not use a pressure cooker, as I don't have one.  Instead I sauteed the onions and garlic, then added the tomatoes to sautee for a minute, added two cups of veggie boulline and the squash and greens and simmered until done. I did not have harissa sauce and used their suggestion for a sub.  Much to my extreme irritation I did not have any chickpeas in my house, which is a rarity, so I used kidney beans.  I used quinoa instead of couscous since that's what I had. (tweety)
Banana and black bean empanadas
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10935?section= I have never made an empanada before, or eaten one, so to me these were just kinda like a fancy pasty.  However, they were EXCELLENT!!  The pastry was really easy to make and came out wonderfully - I had to add maybe an extra tbsp of water, but yeah, great.  And with the applesauce rather than all oil/marg, a little bit healthier than my normal pastry.  I have never had the combination of banana and spice, but I loved loved loved it!  The only down side was that it either needed a bit of salt in the banana/black bean mix OR more spices, not sure which.  I will definitely be making these again, and possibly making the filling again but saucier to go with rice.  Great! (shelloid)
Cabbage and cheddar pie
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10131?section= I made a vegan version of this last night subbing Tofutti Sour Supreme for the sour cream and shredded cheddar daiya for the dairy cheese. Man, oh man was it good! And it smelled divine in the oven. My mum and I loved it. It tasted almost a little bit sauerkraut-y, probably due to the tang of the Sour Supreme and mustard and the fact that it's cooked cabbage. I'll definitely keep this as a recipe to make again. (dannibazaar)
Coconut corn chowder
It's from Robin Robertson's column and am not sure it's in one of her books.  It's very good.  I've never had corn chowder before, in fact hadn't heard of it before.  It's made with coconut milk which adds more of a creaminess than coconut flavor. I did have an issue with her recipe.  In the intro she mentions that the ginger helps give it an Asian flavor and then you never see ginger mentioned again.  So I just made up an amount, and added it when I felt like it. (tweety)
Creepy finger sandwiches
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10397?section= These sandwiches are filled with a pate made from cooked lentils, ground walnuts, spices and chopped spinach.  They were suggested as supper for a kids Halloween party--hence the name.  Do not skip the vegenaise and jarred roasted red pepper topping.  The pate is delicious.  I've tried using other nuts but walnuts give the most flavor. Also, my kids have grown to accept/like this but at first did not like it as much as my husband and I. (jkl)
Deep chocolate vegan cake
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/8705?section= I made this without the frosting and I added some cinnamon and cayenne pepper. This is basically just a wacky cake, but I like the use of coffee instead of just water as the liquid...makes the cake nice and rich. Very good! (dannibazaar)
Jamaican style black bean and coconut cornbread bake
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/11303?section= I think this has go potential.  It wasn't amazing as is but I'll probably make it again and tweak it.  I couldn't find jerk seasoning in the shops and so made one up using a couple of different recipes online - maybe that's partly why mine wasn't as good as it could have been?  I used the equivalent of 1 can of black beans and some seitan instead of all black beans and it worked really well.  I found that there wasn't really enough cornbread topping to cover the whole bake, but that could have been because my baking dish was slightly different sized than called for in the recipe, not sure.  I found the coconut cornbread topping to go really well with the black bean/corn base - both texture and flavour wise.  Overall, the recipe was really easy to make and came together very quickly.  Definitely worth a try. (shelloid)
I liked this more than I thought I would, it was definitely more than the sum of its parts. It was a good use of light coconut milk, which I don't always like, but here it added a butteriness to the cornbread without being too sweet. Really yummy, and really easy to throw together. (nmpixie)
Louisiana sausage and greens
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/9072?section= This was great. I'll make it often. It's a good way to use bitter greens, because the dish sweetens them up. We all really loved it. (nmpixie)
Thank you so much for reviewing this, nmpixie! We both loved it. It was perfect, because I'm quite low on ingredients but happened to have some leftover Gimme Lean and kale. I didn't have the onion, and used red wine for the wine. The flavor is superb. Next time, I would brown the sausage better (it was sticking to my pot), and use the onion. I also added a bit of cornstarch+tomato water to thicken my broth a bit. I served it over pasta. Would make this again, if I had another craving for sausage (don't eat soy much now). (AC)
Mexican rice
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10492?section= ow this is good! I did play around with the spices (I can't remember exactly what I did...) and didn't use instant rice or anything like that...just brown rice. I added black beans at the end. We had these in rice bean and "cheese" burritos for dinner. Very, very good. (dannibazaar)
Moroccan meatballs and couscous
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10200?section= pretty good. My husband loved it and said it tasted like BBQ. I did add some cumin, because it was too sweet for me w/o it. It was better after it sat a bit and the flavors married. Really easy, I'd prob. make it again. (nmpixie)
Moussaka
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10439?section=  I had high hopes for this as it smelled so nice as it was cooking but the whole thing was meh.  I made a half batch and the changes I made were to use red lentils instead of green as that was what I had in, omitted the courgette as I didn't have one and N is not that keen, used fresh oregano instead of dried as that's all I had and cooked the eggplant for 10 mins in the oven as reviews had said that it was still undercooked after baking the moussaka.  The end result was too bland and I think it's because there was too much potato for the amount of lentil/eggplant/other stuff.  It was such a shame as the lentil mix was delicious on its own, but the flavour just got lost.  The overall dish took a long time to make too, but lots of it could be prepared in advance.  I would make the lentil portion of this again, but just use my normal moussaka bechamel sauce to go with it - that would go better taste-wise and also stop it from being so dry. (shelloid)
Orange lacquered tofu
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/9763?section= This is all stuff I like to put in my tofu marinade anyway, so I knew I'd like it.Too salty on it's on, but perfect with rice. I like that it came together really quickly, and everyone gobbled it up. A definite winner. (nmpixie)
Roasted cauliflower and brussels sprouts
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/7642?section= I had some Brussels sprouts and Romanesco cauliflower in my fridge, so this seemed like the perfect recipe to try. And it's great! It's very easy to make, although you have to remember to prepare the ingredients one day in advance -- but that makes it the perfect dish for entertaining guests. Just don't forget to keep your eye on the oven; I almost let my veggies burn. Oops. (gnoe)
Roasted onions, potatoes, and spinach
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/8146?section= Very yummy and simple to throw together. Basically just roasted potatoes. They were good drizzled with malt vinegar. (dannibazaar)
Rosemary focaccia
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/9686?section= Another bread fail for me - but that may not be the recipes fault as I tend to have bad luck with bread.  I really thought this was going to be great as the dough rose nicely during the prep part, but then it didn't rise at all when it was baking!  So I ended up with really flat bread that was really heavy.  Oh and the bottom of it burnt too. But like I say I have had many bread fails in the past so I think it may just be me not doing things right and my crappy oven.  Oh yeah another reason I didn't like it was that I burnt my hand when taking it out of the oven! (shelloid)
Sesame noodle salad with asparagus and tofu
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/7740?section= Also known as Bon Chi Chi, this is tofu and asparagus over vermicelli with a sesame dressing. The title calls it a salad but we serve it hot.  You can't tell from the link but it was excerpted from the ayurvedic cookbook "Heaven's Banquet" by Miriam Hospodar.  Not low-fat, but completely delicious. Definitely try it when fresh asparagus are in season, and don't skip the cilantro. (jkl)
Smoky black bean tostadas with garlicky greens
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10903?section= I thought these were pretty good, quick and easy to make.  I chopped up a chipolte pepper in adobo sauce and didn't use any of the optional stuff.  (tweety)
Southwestern salad with avocado lime dressing
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/11318 Mehh....not my personal favourite flavour profile. I'm just not into the whole lime flavour. Mum liked it, but I wouldn't make it again. (dannibazaar)
Spicy Moroccan chickpea tacos
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10584?section= I am in love with this recipe. I used chopped dried apricots instead of raisins, and grated the carrot instead of dicing it, because I wanted it to be soft. It was soooooooo good! We had it whole wheat pitas, and I love that it was low cal, high fiber, healthy, filling, and delicious. I will totally make this again, and think it would be a great thing to bring to someone, you know, after they have a baby or get sick or whatever. (nmpixie)
Stir fried shiitake mushrooms with tofu and bok choy
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/11207?printer=yes Loved it!  Nothing earth shattering about this recipe.  I've probably made something similar 1000 times since I've been a vegetarian, but that's because I love it.  I did cook the tofu as instructed but then cooked the bok choy stalks a few minutes and added the mushrooms and greens, rather than take out the bok choy and set aside.  I used two tablespoons of sambal olek for the chili sauce rather than two teaspoons because I like the heat. (tweety)
Sweet potato stir fry
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/8625?section= This was pretty good. Ordinarily sweet potatoes aren't something I'd associate with Asian food, but this works.  I did not use the broccolini because it was too expensive.  I used regular bok choy from my CSA rather than baby bok choy.  It was too greasy and I even cut back on the oil.  A total of 7 tbs of oil is too much.  Also I didn't have 4 tbs of mirin, but only two and that was plenty as the sweet potatoes are sweet enough without a lot of mirin.  More would have been to sweet for me.  I used Thai chili for heat instead of crushed red pepper. (tweety)
Tangerine Glazed Carrot Cake
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10123?section= This was good. I subbed oj for the carrot juice, and it worked well. It needs to be adjusted for high altitude, as it was a bit too moist inside for me. Next time I'll leave out the raisins b/c they are gross. (nmpixie)
Tofu mimosa
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/11328 I have made, (and raved about), this recipe before.  I was planning on making it last night but was not super hungry from a late lunch.  So I just made the Hollandaise sauce and served over steamed asparagus.  It was delicious! I used EB instead of oil, because we are out, and added a little extra lemon juice, and a few pinches of nootch, (which I compulsively add to everything).  So tasty.  Lemoney- but nott overwhelmingly so, and the mixture of the fresh lemon, with EB over steaming asparagus was just delicious! (babysgotsauce)
Ultimate vegan lasagna
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10851?section= One of my favorite lasagnas. Tofu + cream cheeze + sausages + roasted red pepper sauce just can't go wrong. (eldsjal)
Updated Irish stew
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10508?section= I really liked this. I served it over mashed potatoes and it was delicious. I didn't like the butternut squash in it, though, which is weird because I love butternut squash. Next time I'll just up the carrot. I will make it again, though, as it came together quickly. (nmpixie)
Vanilla pound cake with lime glaze
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10222?section= minus the lime glaze. I made it a vanilla glaze. Anyways. This was good! Not at all too sweet....it didn't have the dense pound cake texture that I remember. Good nonetheless. (dannibazaar)
Whole wheat rosemary focaccia
http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/9686?section= I didn't use the whole wheat flour (1 cup), but I don't see how just 3 cups of flour is enough! My mixture was basically still liquid at that point. I did use the regular 1/4 ounce pack of yeast instead of 3/4 (why so much??), but I think more flour is needed. I added maybe 1/2+ cup and dough was still quite sticky. Anyway, it rose wonderfully. One of the best rises, ever. I followed the recipe by putting the rack on lowest position, but I could tell the bottom of the bread was browning very quickly. I turned down the heat, and moved the rack up, but not soon enough. The bottom got slightly burned (which P enjoys). The resulting bread is delicious, but could be even better. Next time, I'd probably keep it on a low rack for no more than 5 minutes to get a nice crust, and bake at lower temp. It's a pretty basic recipe otherwise, so it works well. (AC)
Vive Le Vegan
Vegveeta cheese dip
One of my favorite cheeze sauces. Works with everything. (eldsjal)
I thought this was quite good, but has more potential with some tweaks. (AC)

0 likes

PPK blog:
Mexican chocolate snickerdoodles - I really liked these!  The dough came together super fast and it wasn't sticky or hard to work with.  These cookies have the perfect chewy consistency!!

0 likes

My Vegan Cookbook

Barbecue Sandwich
I thought this was good.  It was easy to make too.

Barbecue Sauce (Fat Free)
I have been looking for a barbecue sauce that did not requrie ketchup.  This sauce was really good and easy to make.  It will be my go to BBQ sauce.

Black Bean Burgers
The best black bean burger I have ever had.  It was not heavy or crumbly.  The flavor was just right.  It is fast and easy to prepare and made enough for leftovers for me.

0 likes

oh my goodness I only just realised this thread was here. I have made quite a lot from Vegan Dad, so I'll try to catch up and add some comments later : )

0 likes

oh my goodness I only just realised this thread was here. I have made quite a lot from Vegan Dad, so I'll try to catch up and add some comments later : )

It's pretty new!
You all add more blogs, too!!!

0 likes

I'll come back and add reviews later, but I just did a quick flick back through for recipes I've definitely made : )

Vegan Dad

Cauliflower and roasted garlic soup
I halved this recipe and it still made heaps.  It was a really nice comforting soup, though not the most flavoursome.  I'm planning on making it again, and will probably play around with some spices to give it a little more 'bite'.

Crumpets
oooh boy these are a definite keeper. I am borderline obsessed with crumpets though...  Again, I made a half batch because even I don't need to eat that many.  I just mixed them by hand with a wooden spoon rather than in a stand mixer, and didn't have any problems.  I probably had to add an extra 1/3-1/2 cup of water to get the consistency right, and I don't have 'crumpet rings' so I just poured the batter into the pan on it's own, and other than being slightly funky shaped , they were fine.  The second time I made these I lowered the heat even more, and cooked them for an extra minute or two, till all the 'bubbles' had cooked on the top, so that they were ready to pop in the toaster, because if you use the stated method of flipping them, you'll end up losing the bubble texture from the top and they don't absorb your spreads so well.

Homemade sausages
Pretty darned easy, and, in my opinion, quite tasty.  The only shop-bought sausages I've ever tried have been tofu-based, not gluten or bean-based, so I've got no idea how these compare, but I find them really useful to have individually frozen and tucked in the freezer for when the omnivores are doing their own thing and I want to keep up.  I've sliced them into stir-fries, pasta dishes, on pizzas... they're pretty good : )

Best ever alfredo
I've only made this once, and was never a fan of 'regular' alfredo as I have always hated cream, so it's one of those recipes where I judge success more on my husband's reaction, as he does eat/love the creamy fatty stuff.  Ridiculously simple, and the end result went down well with the whole family, including the sceptical-of-tofu-sneaking-onto-my-plate parents.

Stuffed potato cakes
For once I wanted to cook more food than vegan dad, so I doubled this mix.  They were fairly straightforward in the method, but still really quite time consuming, though I did get better/faster as I went along. I didn't use peas, because I have a strong dislike for cooked peas, so my filling was just onion/garlic/spices and it was reeeeeaaallly nice.  Or so I'm told.  I actually took these to an omnivorous party, and didn't even think to try one myself : (  Next time I put this much effort into party snacks, I'll definitely remember to have a taste!

Homemade green curry paste
mmmmmmmmmm. I'm definitely a firm believer of homemade-anything is better than shop-bought-everything so I was bound to love this. I crushed the seeds in my trusty coffee-grinder-turned-spice-mill because that's how I roll, and left out the jalapenos so that I could share it with the non-spice-loving family.
It still had a fair amount of kick, definitely a nice strong flavour, and was insanely easy to make.  A frequent sight in my fridge : )

Creamy mac and cheeze
My first mac and cheeze experience.  To be honest, I was never a fan of/certainly don't 'miss' real cheese sauce.  But seeing the amount of internet love for the vegan variations, I gave this a shot, and we really really liked it.  My omnivorous husband loves it, and frequently requests it.  My only departure from the recipe as written was to omit the miso, only because I never have any.  My husband calls this vegan super food, and I might tend to agree.  We've done it just poured over/stirred through pasta, and baked in the oven with breadcrumbs on top, and it's good either way.

Pumpkin spice sweet rolls
Now these are definitely my first and so far only experience with pumpkin in a sweet recipe.  Buuuuut we really really really like them. I've made them for a work pot-luck dinner, for dessert when having friends round for dinner, and for family gatherings, and no-one is yet to not love these rolls.  The recipe is for 12, and I've done them that size, but I also like to make them much smaller, so you get more like between 2 dozen and 30 from a batch.  Then, if I feel like indulging, I don't have to feel quite so bad about all that margarine and sugar!

Irish soda bread
I've made this bread at least a half dozen times now, and it's pretty awesome.  It's become my go-to bread recipe when I'm making soup or something and realise I want bread but forgot to start it earlier, because it's nice and quick due to not needing to rise, just throw the ingredients together and into the oven for forty minutes, fairly fail-proof : )

Pizza rolls
Not even really a recipe, it's the VWAV pizza dough, spread with the stuff you like, rolled up and baked : )
Still, they're damn fine.  I've made my own 'cheezymite' scrolls with marmite and nutritional yeast... but that's probably only of interest to the down-under vegwebbers.  Good way to use up leftovers, if, like me, you like anything and everything spread on pizza.

Crispy cajun chickpea cakes
I really really liked these, and had them with the creamy cajun rice.  I've not really had cajun food before, so can't comment on the authenticity, but this is a really simple recipe that has a lovely rounded flavour.  You could easily make them a bit bigger and use in burgers... mmm... I might do that : )

Creamy cajun rice
I made this without the seitan because we were having it with the crispy cajun chickpea cakes.  Otherwise, made it following the recipe.  It was fairly quick to put together, and made a nice change from the indian/thai/chinese/italian food rotation we normally fall into.  I'll definitely make this again.

Vegan Feast Kitchen

Coconut-lime cake
This cake was a lot of work.  But, if you've got a spare half a day, it looks amazing, and, by all accounts, is delicious.  I made it for a mate's birthday, but didn't stick around to try a piece.  It's a big cake, and it all got eaten, and I did get requests for the recipe from the guests, so I guess that's a good enough sign ; )

Veganyumyum

Tomato basil cream pasta
Like the title says, this is a super quick sauce, pretty healthy, and easy to make with things that always live in my cupboards.  It's nothing ground-breaking, but it is tasty, and easy enough to shake up the spices/herbs and customise it how you like.

Crumb cake
I've made this cake a few times, and it's really good, though my crumb topping is definitely much more crumbly than I think it should be.  Possibly because I used a mix of white/brown sugar rather than molasses?  I also tend to err on the light side when adding margarine/oil, so that could be it.  Either way, it bakes up really well, and doesn't fall off/fall apart so I'm happy.
For something different, I've also made this with a filling by soaking dried apricots and blending them into a paste, spreading over the base and topping with the crumbs. You could do this with any fruit, or even a chocolate/caramel sauce... makes a nice contrast with the fairly plain cake.

Baked sundried tomato risotto
I've made this baked risotto, but not the balsamic reduction she recommends to go with it.
It's a fairly straight forward risotto recipe, but an interesting method, because it saves you standing at the stove stirring.  I was sceptical of how well it was going to cook, and kept checking the oven to see whether it was drying out, but it was the opposite.  I think I had to leave it in an extra 10-ish minutes, but in the end the rice was beatifully done, and the flavours had come together nicely.
It's probably just me being a bit traditional about liking standing at the stove stirring, but I don't think I'll use this method again.

Aloo parathas
holy moley this suckers are goooood.  I've lost track of how many times I've made them, and I've never had leftovers yet.  They also work fine with regular flour when you don't have any durum atta.
If you're not cooking them straight away, watch out for the dough becoming sticky, especially as that can create a hole in the seal, which will prevent them from puffing up
Also, I've learnt to make more potato filling than necessary, because both my husband and I struggle to not just eat it with a spoon, it's so freaking tasty.

Broccoli lentil soup
Really tasty, easy, but fancy looking soup : )  The spicyness of the cumin and chilli gives this soup a lovely kick, and it's super hearty and filling with the lentils and broccoli.  I made the coulis and it was tasty and looked very pretty, but I think this soup would be just yum on it's own with some homemade bread.  I'll probably only do the coulis again if serving it to guests.

0 likes

PPK Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies
These are delicious.  I used whole wheat flour and substituted dried cranberries and pecans for the raisins and walnuts.  My husband said they were the best cookies he's ever had in his life.  The second time I made them, I put a little ginger in, too.

0 likes

PPK Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies
These are delicious.  I used whole wheat flour and substituted dried cranberries and pecans for the raisins and walnuts.  My husband said they were the best cookies he's ever had in his life.  The second time I made them, I put a little ginger in, too.

Hey, vd. In case you're wondering why I didn't add your review to the compilation, it's just because the recipe is not on the actual ppk blog. It's with the site recipes. The blog recipes/search is on the left of the blog page. : )

0 likes

Hey, vd. In case you're wondering why I didn't add your review to the compilation, it's just because the recipe is not on the actual ppk blog. It's with the site recipes. The blog recipes/search is on the left of the blog page. : )

Doh!  I had just wanted to recommend them ever since I made them and I thought I saw an opening...

Geez, you're strict!  ;D

0 likes

The Banana Oatmeal Cookies on the Shmooed Food (Vegan Lunchbox) website might me the easiest cookies in the planet to bake.
http://shmooedfood.blogspot.com/2006/07/banana-oatmeal-cookies.html

After a chocolate chip cookie week, I needed a lighter treat that didn't give me a surging sugar rush. The Banana Oatmeal Cookies did the job.

This wheat-free, sugar-free, oil-free cookie combines oat flour, pureed bananas, cinnamon, dates and sunflower seeds to make small pillowy cookies. More like a muffintop then a cookie. I replaced the dates with raisins, left out the sunflower seeds because I didn't have any. Next time I think I will throw in some walnuts and maybe a half cup of quick oats, not oat flour, to add a little more texture. Baking them bigger, they could make a grab and go breakfast cookie too.

I halved the recipe, so I could easily bake them in my smaller toaster oven. Half the pleasure in baking these is the warm banana scent wafting through the kitchen while the cookies are baking.

0 likes

Since Fat Free Vegan challenge week is over I thought I'd post this review and pic here and bump this thread up a bit:)

Tofu, Tempeh, and Butternut Squash in Slow-Cooked Peanut Mole:  This stuff is SO good!  The allspice/clove/cinnamon flavors are weird at first but, WOW, it becomes a party in your mouth very quickly.  I omitted the tempeh and put a cup of black beans in there instead.  For the spices I used the already ground ones, and I went with using regular chunky peanut butter instead of peanuts or natural butter.  I also used a whole can of Mexican diced tomatoes.  It didn't need the entire amount of broth either.  The only thing that got kind of lost in there flavor-wise was the squash.  I think sweet potato would work equally well or better.  This is a make-again recipe!

The pic looks kind of like slop - case of crumbly tofu:(
http://i557.photobucket.com/albums/ss15/erthfemme/008.jpg

0 likes

Yes! Please keep adding here during/after the challenge. I love this one.

0 likes

My husband made Eggplant Creole from Fat Free Vegan  for me tonight!:  It turned out to be quite good but we ended up adding more of the garlic/herbs/spices and I even added a little bit of vegan Worcestershire sauce.  Very good over brown rice!

0 likes

My husband made Eggplant Creole from Fat Free Vegan  for me tonight!:  It turned out to be quite good but we ended up adding more of the garlic/herbs/spices and I even added a little bit of vegan Worcestershire sauce.  Very good over brown rice!

Cute!!!

0 likes

I made another Vegan Dad blog recipe last night - the Crispy Cajun Cakes:  These turned out rather bland to me, even with my small additions of garlic and Cajun seasoning and kelp powder.  The cakes were quite crumbly too.  They need more spices and moisture for them to be better.

0 likes

I made a half-recipe of Vegan Dad's Hickory Smoked Veggie Turkey Lunchmeat.  I didn't have any Bragg's so I left it out.  I wish I had, at least, subbed more soy sauce for it, because it turned out extremely bland.  The texture is fine, and it slices well; so I could definitely work on the flavoring.  I'm thinking about how I could work Quintess's Chicky Baby Seasoning into it.

0 likes

The other day I made My Veggie Kitchen's Seitan Clams in Kombu Broth.  Well, mostly made it because I made some changes out of necessity:  The end product was pretty good and really "clammy" according to my seafood-loving husband.  The texture was a tad tough and chewy but it did have a nice sea flavor.  I ended up baking them for a little bit in some of the broth after they were done boiling in the broth.  Later on I fried them with an egg replacer and cornstarch (plus salt and pepper) breading.  If I make them again I think I would change the breading and only fry or bake them instead of both (this works well for me with other seitan foods but it didn't work for these clams).

For the mods I did:  I used wakame and some kelp powder instead of kombu, ground black pepper instead of peppercorns, and I added a bit more garlic to the broth.  He didn't indicate how much water to use so I started out with 2 cups and added more as needed.

0 likes

The Breakfast Sausages from Vegan Dad's blog:  Pretty good, especially after frying and dipping in maple syrup.  I think the spices could have been upped or changed somehow to give them more umph.  The texture turned out well, not bready or doughy or too chewy - I think steaming them for a bit longer than suggested helped that. I used great northern beans instead of white kidney, but that was the only ingredient change I made.  J really likes them, though he agrees about the spices so I'll probably make them again, experimenting with that.

0 likes

Pages

Log in or register to post comments

More Posts Like This