You are here

Starbucks to Offer Customized Soy Frappuccino's This Summer!!!

I just saw this article: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703734504575126040136069052.html

Vegan Frap's! Finally! Expensive but so delicious :)

Lame :(

0 likes

the iced mochas are vegan, correct?

0 likes

i believe so with soy milk of course

0 likes

it made me happehhhhh. even though i hate coffee. haha

0 likes

I will check on the mocha when I get to work again Monday but I think it has milk in the powder :( For sure the caramel sauce is not vegan it contains several milk products. This is why I am a toffee nut soy latte kinda girl.

0 likes

I will check on the mocha when I get to work again Monday but I think it has milk in the powder :( For sure the caramel sauce is not vegan it contains several milk products. This is why I am a toffee nut soy latte kinda girl.

When I worked there, the mocha powder was just cocoa, sugar, and vanillin, mixed with hot water. I know the "signature" hot chocolate stuff is supposed to be not vegan for some reason. The toffee nut syrup, though, says (or said) it contained dairy ingredients/butter flavoring on the bottle.

0 likes

ok so neither the toffee nut syrup or the mocha powder has milk product in it, but they both say they contain natural and artificial ingredients which scares me a little.....

0 likes

Hah, everything at Starbucks contains mysterious "flavors."

flavors = crack

0 likes

Hah, everything at Starbucks contains mysterious "flavors."

flavors = crack

yes

0 likes

That is too funny! :-D

0 likes

Ok so I must apologize I made a mistake. The NEW frapuccino bases do NOT have animal products in them. when made with soy milk. I am sorry, enjoy them starting the third week of april.

0 likes

Um. Yay!

0 likes

Ok so I must apologize I made a mistake. The NEW frapuccino bases do NOT have animal products in them. when made with soy milk. I am sorry, enjoy them starting the third week of april.

OMG my life is complete LOL... I'm so stoked though vegan fraps for all! Do we know what flavors are vegan when made with soy milk? I'm guessing coffee, mocha, anything else?

0 likes

I'm still wondering about the creme ones. Is there an (actual) non-dairy base, or will they just use soymilk? I know at least strawberries & cream worked with soymilk alone.

amy, my guess is it's the same as when I was there - it's vegan except for white mocha, caramel sauce, and chips. But, you can get a caramel frap without sauce (the frap itself has caramel syrup, which contains no dairy).

0 likes

god i would really love to know all of this for sure... heathb76 please find out for sure and fill us in asap starbucks insider!

0 likes

i know they're not nearly as prolific as SB, buuuuuuut I just found out that Peet's Coffee and Tea carries vegan cookies.  AND their blended, frozen drinks can be made vegan!

I'm normally a Coffee Bean kind of girl, but shoot...Peet is totally stealing my heart (and money) being all veg-friendly and whatnot.

0 likes

Peet's also tastes better in general, but it might be hard finding one.

0 likes

Peet's serves up great coffee. I've had the ginger and chocolate chip cookies there. Big, thin, soft cookies that are good for dunking in your coffee.

0 likes

Aw, there isn't a Peet's or Coffee Bean in my city. Boo. But, look what I just found from The Seattle Times.

In what appears to be more of a marketing than a product move, Starbucks will formally allow customers to customize their Frappuccinos beginning in May, the company told The Wall Street Journal.

They'll be able to request soy milk rather than dairy, decaffeinated coffee, light syrup, more syrup, no whipped cream, more espresso -- all things that are available now, except the soy milk Frappuccino base and a decaffeinated option.

Chief Marketing Officer Annie Young-Scrivner told the Journal that Starbucks hopes customization will attract a younger crowd. It's been working on this roll-out for years, and to prepare, it's training baristas and bringing in quieter blenders.

Update 3/18/2010: There's a helpful conversation about this at StarbucksGossip.com. There and elsewhere, it's becoming clear that the new Frappuccino base mix coming in May will not include dairy or coffee, which means Starbucks will start using the fresh coffee and milk in Frappuccinos that it uses in other drinks. That's why decaf and soy will now be options. And the new base mix is free of high-fructose corn syrup.

http://seattletimes.nwsource.com/html/coffeecity/2011361661_starbucks_to_formally_launch_c.html

Yay! Vegan Fraps for everyone!!!
:)

0 likes

Believe it or not even the creme base doesn't have milk product in it, it's just a few different sweetners,guar guar gum, artificial and natural flavors. All the syrups are vegan and the mocha sauce. The strawberries sauce is ok also. Just stay away from the white mocha and caramel sauce and all of the bakery items:(

0 likes

Pages

Log in or register to post comments