You are here

Starbucks to Offer Customized Soy Frappuccino's This Summer!!!

I just saw this article: http://online.wsj.com/article/SB10001424052748703734504575126040136069052.html

Vegan Frap's! Finally! Expensive but so delicious :)

I'm pretty sure they'll still use the frap bases. Like the flavoring and things, and I'm pretty sure all/most of them have dairy. I was told that before by some one at Starbucks at least. Not positive though.

0 likes

i know the green tea one has dairy in the base.

0 likes

I think what this means is that it will be possible to have one be completely dairy-free, because I know it's already possible to ask for a frapp made with soya instead of the milk they use in addition to the base. I can't see why they'd make a big kerfluffle over something they'd already been doing all along.

Personally, I'm quite happy with Vivanno smoothies (sans the protein/fibre, made with soya milk) but they don't make those here in the UK... Ah well.

0 likes

So you can't make them vegan? Is that what you're saying? You couldn't do like a vanilla or mocha frap? I know their carmel is not vegan and white mocha flavors

0 likes

Frappuccinos were made with the bases:
coffee
light coffee
cream
light cream (no longer available)

the coffee bases were made with a quart of dairy-containing concentrate + water + a packet of instant coffee. The cream ones were made with a quart of nonfat milk plus a packet of powdered cream base (of course, containing dairy). The base is made ahead of time and stored in bulk in the fridge. To make a frappuccino, some of either base is added to a blender, plus ice, plus whatever syrups/powders the flavor requires (for coffee frappuccino, there's nothing added, but all the others have something added). Because no where is there a specific dairy ingredient added to an individual drink, that's why they couldn't be customized. We had to use the concentrate/powder for the frappuccinos, because of the texture they gave the drink. While I worked there I made frappuccinos for myself & a couple customers with an entirely soymilk base (+ a shot of espresso for the "coffee base,"), but the blended drinks usually melted easily and didn't have the same texture (however, it worked pretty well for strawberries & "cream" frappuccino). But, if you can get a barista to do this for you, you can get most frappuccinos vegan (except the ones with white mocha, caramel sauce, or the chips), though they're technically just the iced version of the drink, blended. Some customers wanted to do this with their non-fat drinks as well, and it came out even less resembling a frappuccino than the soy ones.

My guess is for this new, customisable frappuccino that they're changing the proportions baristas put in the blender (like Vivanno, maybe, where a little bit of a milk is added to the blender), but if using the regular concentrate/powder it would still be not vegan (much like Vivannos made with soymilk but still containing the whey protein powder). But, maybe they're changing the concentrate system altogether, and maybe they're taking the dairy out of the base and leaving the other ingredients (wholesome things like corn syrup solids). I don't know how that would work out, because it's probably the casein in the concentrate/powder that gives the frappuccino the ice-cream-type texture without melting immediately.

Either way, I guess we'll have to ask. And even if it's not vegan, you still might be able to talk a barista into making a vegan one without concentrate/powder.

0 likes

hmmm i guess i should email starbucks then  :-\

0 likes

yeah email them. that's the only way youre gonna get a definite answer

0 likes

k i just emailed them... let's see how long they take to respond or if they try to keep diverting me off to another person to answer my question

0 likes

Frappuccinos were made with the bases:
coffee
light coffee
cream
light cream (no longer available)

the coffee bases were made with a quart of dairy-containing concentrate + water + a packet of instant coffee. The cream ones were made with a quart of nonfat milk plus a packet of powdered cream base (of course, containing dairy). The base is made ahead of time and stored in bulk in the fridge. To make a frappuccino, some of either base is added to a blender, plus ice, plus whatever syrups/powders the flavor requires (for coffee frappuccino, there's nothing added, but all the others have something added). Because no where is there a specific dairy ingredient added to an individual drink, that's why they couldn't be customized. We had to use the concentrate/powder for the frappuccinos, because of the texture they gave the drink. While I worked there I made frappuccinos for myself & a couple customers with an entirely soymilk base (+ a shot of espresso for the "coffee base,"), but the blended drinks usually melted easily and didn't have the same texture (however, it worked pretty well for strawberries & "cream" frappuccino). But, if you can get a barista to do this for you, you can get most frappuccinos vegan (except the ones with white mocha, caramel sauce, or the chips), though they're technically just the iced version of the drink, blended. Some customers wanted to do this with their non-fat drinks as well, and it came out even less resembling a frappuccino than the soy ones.

My guess is for this new, customisable frappuccino that they're changing the proportions baristas put in the blender (like Vivanno, maybe, where a little bit of a milk is added to the blender), but if using the regular concentrate/powder it would still be not vegan (much like Vivannos made with soymilk but still containing the whey protein powder). But, maybe they're changing the concentrate system altogether, and maybe they're taking the dairy out of the base and leaving the other ingredients (wholesome things like corn syrup solids). I don't know how that would work out, because it's probably the casein in the concentrate/powder that gives the frappuccino the ice-cream-type texture without melting immediately.

Either way, I guess we'll have to ask. And even if it's not vegan, you still might be able to talk a barista into making a vegan one without concentrate/powder.

This is so helpful. You answered several questions I'd had in my head about coffee drink preparations at Starbucks. Sometimes I'm limited in my coffeehouse options, especially when I travel. Thanks so much, faunablues.

0 likes

oh and btw you can make the viviano's without the protein powder and use soymilk to make them vegan... except the chocolate one right?

0 likes

oh and btw you can make the viviano's without the protein powder and use soymilk to make them vegan... except the chocolate one right?

The Vivannos are vegan if you choose soymilk and no protein powder. The "mocha sauce"(actually contains no coffee) that is used for all the chocolate drinks (vivanno, hot chocolate, mocha, chocolate fraps, and the sauce used on top of some drinks) is made from cocoa, sugar, artificial vanilla, and hot water. We had to prepare it every morning... best smelling thing there =)

However, their "signature" hot chocolates are not vegan. They didn't have these while I worked there, so I'm not sure what made it not vegan. But the regular ("classic"?) is still the same old thing - mocha sauce, vanilla syrup, milk of choice, optional whipped cream.

Most of the hot/iced drinks can be made vegan, except for those with a syrup base containing dairy: caramel sauce (e.g. caramel macchiato), white chocolate sauce (white mocha, white hot chocolate), and pumpkin spice when it's in season. Also, the toffee nut syrup contains dairy-derived flavors, but that's only in a drink if you specifically request it. The chai concentrate used for chai lattes (iced or hot) or chai fraps contains honey. For a hot chai, though, you can get a "chai misto," which is half brewed chai tea and half steamed milk of choice. It's cheaper than a chai latte, actually (well, maybe until you add a syrup). An iced chai made this way is pretty impossible unless you want to wait around for the tea to get cold (so I could do it for myself when I worked there, but most customers opted for the hot chai instead).

Other vegan things:
matcha powder (just green tea + some sugar)
vanilla bean powder (it's used for the vanilla bean and caffe vanilla fraps, but you can add it to other things). the vanilla powder at the bar is also vegan.
most of the syrups, including gingerbread, caramel, hazelnut, vanilla, cinnamon dolce, etc.
strawberry sauce (used in strawb & cream frap, strawb & banana vivanno)
lemonade
all the teas

the chips used for the chocolate chip and java chip fraps aren't vegan (though they used to be!).

also, you can get the caramel apple cider made vegan (sort of). Normally that drink is hot apple juice + cinnamon dolce + whipped cream + caramel sauce. You'd just have to skip the last two ingredients.

and finally... if you want a soy cappuccino, ask if they can use soymilk that's been in the fridge (it's the quart carton, so it doesn't have to be in the fridge until it's opened, but at some stores they like to keep it in there anyway). Cold milk of any type froths up a lot better, and room temp soymilk doesn't make much foam. A lot of my coworkers thought that soy caps just didn't work until we started keeping the soymilk in the fridge. : /

0 likes

wow thank u so much FB!

0 likes

just to clarify.. - is the caramel sauce different than the caramel syrup?  ones vegan and ones not?

(not that i ever go to starbucks cus i can never remember all this stuff and i figure it's all probably terrible for me anyway)

0 likes

Carmel sauce/drizzle is thick and has dairy. The syrup is just a sugary flavoring

I went to a starbucks and they tried to tell me that the drizzle had no dairy in it. I told them I just wanted the syrup and I think they still put drizzle in because it tasted off.
grumblegrumblegrumble.

0 likes

One time I ordered a vivanno at my own starbucks, and asked the guy working to not put protein powder in 'cause I'm vegan (they all knew, since I brought them vegan cupcakes and such). I'm standing at the bar, and whadoyouknow, he starts putting the powder in.
And I thought I was being "picky" by always making my own drinks...

0 likes

Carmel sauce/drizzle is thick and has dairy. The syrup is just a sugary flavoring

I went to a starbucks and they tried to tell me that the drizzle had no dairy in it. I told them I just wanted the syrup and I think they still put drizzle in because it tasted off.
grumblegrumblegrumble.

thats what i was thinking - thanks for confirming.

0 likes

Lame-o response I got from starbucks:

Hello Amy,

Thank you for contacting Starbucks Coffee Company.

This summer Starbucks will launch the New however-you-want-it Frappuccino® Blended Beverage. This new Frappuccino will redefine the iconic beverage to better meet customers' needs by allowing them to personalize their order with their choices of milk or soy, regular coffee or decaf, as well as lower calorie options - just the same way they are able to personalize other espresso beverages. The arrival of the new Frappuccino® Blended Beverage will be just in time for customers to cool down and treat themselves this summer and will be available in all U.S. and Canada company-operated and participating licensed Starbucks stores beginning in early May.

There aren't details beyond this that we are sharing at this time.

If you have any further questions or concerns that I was unable to address, please feel free to let me know.

Warm Regards,

Heather L.

Customer Relations

Starbucks Coffee Company

800 23-LATTE (235-2883)

Monday through Friday, 5AM to 6PM (PST)

0 likes

That is a lame response. It didn't answer a single question.

0 likes

I guess we'll have to wait : /

0 likes

I work for Starbucks and we have received all the new product for frappuccinos and all 3 of the bases (regular, light and creme) have dairy in them. The upside is that they can make them vegan if you leave the base out it just won't be as creamy. You can now control the amount of coffee in it now though. I was really bummed about this!

0 likes

Pages

Log in or register to post comments

More Posts Like This