You are here

Member since April 2003
0
4.5

2-ingredient Ranch Dip!

What you need: 

1 block of soft mori-nu UHT Tofu
1 packet of dry vegan ranch dip mix
3 tablespoon soy milk (to make it runny if you are a drizzler) (optional)

What you do: 

Just whirl the ingredients together in a blender until smooth and creamy. If you're a dipper, leave the soymilk out, if you're a drizzler, add it to make it easier to use. Tastes like the real thing, because it IS the real thing :)

Preparation Time: 
5 mins
Cooking Time: 
Servings: 
Recipe Category: 

SO HOW'D IT GO?

I just wanted to say that while searching the stores for a vegan ranch mix, McCormick has a ranch dip mix that looks to be vegan (the only thing questionable to me is the "calcium stearate." Other than that, no mention of milk or whey.)

From the following website:
http://www.ams.usda.gov/nop/NationalList/TAPReviews/CalciumStearate2.pdf

How Made:
Traditionally, calcium stearate was made by reacting calcium chloride, sodium stearate, and other salts of mixed fatty acids in an
aqueous solution, then isolating the precipitate (Kebrich and Petrot 1953). According to the Petitioner, this method is not
practical for large-scale production, and instead the substance is derived from a dry fusion process in which palm-derived stearic
acid is reacted with calcium oxide; no organic solvents are used in this process. Stearic acid is a naturally occurring saturated
fatty acid present in the glycerides of animal fats and most vegetable oils, and is derived from palm oil, soybean oil, or edible
tallow. The finished product is composed of calcium with variable proportions of stearic and palmitic acids, and contains the
equivalent of 9-10.5% calcium oxide (Osol and Hoover 1975). It is available in powder, ground, or beaded form and is made
from stearic acid of 50-90% composition (Kamel 1993). Calcium stearate is available in technical and food grades (Hawley
1977).

From reading this, there is a fifty fifty chance that the calcium stearate is made from animal fat.  Unless you ask the company directly, there is really no way of telling.

0 likes

I just wanted to say that while searching the stores for a vegan ranch mix, McCormick has a ranch dip mix that looks to be vegan (the only thing questionable to me is the "calcium stearate." Other than that, no mention of milk or whey.)

0 likes

Calcium Stearate BAD!!!  Anything that says Stearate has a 98% chance of being from an animal. 

This particular ingredient is a combo of Calcium and Stearic Acid 

Stearate:  Its name comes from the Greek word stéar (genitive: stéatos), which means tallow. The term stearate is applied to the salts and esters of stearic acid.

Stearic acid is prepared by treating animal fat with water at a high pressure and temperature, leading to the hydrolysis of triglycerides

It can also be obtained from the hydrogenation of some unsaturated vegetable oils.  BUT YOU MUST Write the company and find out which one they are using.  9/10 it is animal fat. 

If it is animal fat then the product should also state that it contains cholesterol.  But don't assume that a product with 0 cholesterol is vegan. 

0 likes

Thank you so much. I haven't had Ranch dip for 6 months, it was such a welcome flavor to my taste buds! :)

0 likes
Log in or register to post comments